Rally New Zealand is the Promoter and Organiser of the New Zealand Rally Championship.

Our final two events for the 2018 season are The Goldrush Rally of Coromandel on Saturday 18 August, and the Raglan Rally of the Coast on Saturday 13 October.

Rally New Zealand News & Updates

Jul 0
Jul 0

Dayle ITM to sponsor Goldrush Rally of Coromandel

Family-owned Dayle ITM has taken the naming rights sponsorship of 2019 Dayle ITM Goldrush Rally of Coromandel – the next round of the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship. The building supply company has committed support to the fifth and penultimate round of the 2019 Championship to be based out of seaside resort […]

  Read more
May 1
May 1

Rally New Zealand reflects on successful academies

The opening two rounds of both the Brian Green Property Group New Zealand Rally Championship (NZRC) and FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship Pacific Cup powered by Wurth (APRC) have highlighted the success of both current and former Rally New Zealand development initiatives. New Zealand Motorsport has a proud history of competitor development including New Zealand […]

  Read more

About Rally New Zealand

Rally New Zealand is a not-for-profit Motorsport organisation, with the aim of promoting and organising Rallying in New Zealand. We aim to increase the number of Competitors in Rallying, and to establish world-class Rallies in New Zealand. RNZ successfully organised 36 years of the World Rally Championship in New Zealand, and we are committed to having it return to New Zealand in the near future.

Want to volunteer at a Rally?

There are lots of different jobs at a Rally, all of which are done by our wonderful volunteers. It is a great way to get involved, meet the teams and get up close to the action. If you are keen to get involved at a Rally, click below or email info@rallynz.org.nz

A Historical Look at Rally New Zealand

A quick snapshot of some of the milestones @ Rally New Zealand over the 38 years.
  • 2018

    Rally New Zealand pushing to be back in the 2018 World Rally Championship.

    With the prospect of being back in the calendar, the team @ RallyNZ are working hard to be hosting the worlds biggest motorsport event here in Tauranga, New Zealand, in 2018.

  • 2017

    Rally New Zealand makes a comeback @ 2017 NZRC

    The revised Rally New Zealand event will be two days and based in the sunny Tauranga area and part of the 2017 NZRC.

  • 2012

    Brother Rally New Zealand 2012

    The last running of WRC New Zealand with Sébastien Loeb winning the event from Mikki Hirvonen and Petter Solberg. NZ's first driver home was Hayden Paddon in a Škoda Fabia S2000 from Richard Mason and Emma Gilmour 3rd Kiwi.

  • 2007

    Closest Finish in WRC

    Finns Marcus Gronholm and co-driver Timo Rautiainen, took Sainz's crown as the most successful driver in Rally New Zealand history when he beat Sebastién Loeb by 0.3 seconds to claim an exciting victory with the closest winning margin in the history of the WRC to 2007.

  • 1995

    Colins Triple Crown

    Next came the reign of Scotsman the late Colin McRae and co-driver Derek Ringer, and the rise of Subaru. McRae won in 1993 and 1994 before emulating Sainz with a third successive win in 1995 and his WRC title in 1995.

  • 1992

    Carlos Wins 3 In a Row

    Carlos Sainz, and co-driver Luis Moya, of Spain who won for the first time in 1990. Sainz was the first driver to successfully defend his title in 1991 and went on to grab a hat-trick in 1992. All three titles were at the wheel of the Toyota Celica GT-4.

  • 1986

    End of an Era

    The last of the GrpB cars to win Rally New Zealand was Juha Kankkunen in a Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2 at an average speed of 99.67 km/h.

  • 1977

    World Rally Championship in 1977

    Rally New Zealand was first included as a round of the World Rally Championship in 1977 and the winner was Fulvio Bacchelli driving a Fiat 131 Abarth.

  • 1971

    The Heatway International Rally

    ... was the first to be accorded international status and attracted 67 entries, with 15 from outside New Zealand. For the first time an overseas team, Australia's Bruce Hodgson and co-driver Mike Mitchell, scored a narrow victory in their Lotus Cortina from the Holden Torana GTR XU1 of New Zealand's Ralph Emson and co-driver Wayne Jones.

  • 1970

    1970 Silver Fern Rally

    It was organised by the Canterbury Car Club and run in the South Island with a total of 67 entries.

  • 1969

    Rally NZ started in 1969

    It was won by Grady Thompson and co-driver Rick Rimmer in a V8 powered Holden Monaro. Of the 33 starters in Taupo, 22 were classed as finishers.

Drivers Who've Dominated Our Rally New Zealand Event.

Most wins by a driver
:: Marcus Gronholm ::
Most wins by a manufacturer
:: Subaru/Prodrive ::
Highest Winning Speed
:: 2003 Marcus Gronholm ::
Slowest Winning Speed
:: 1988 Josef Haider ::